ANS 2011 Winter Meeting

The University, Industry, Government Relations (UIGR) committee of ETWFD met on October 30, 2011 at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, DC. Representatives from all three entities attended the meeting, which included discussions on a variety of interesting topics. A few of the attendees suggested that the function of the UIGR committee should be expanded so that the discussion topics and committee activities could be shared with other members of ANS. Thus, the ETWFD Executive Committee decided to separate the UIGR committee into two committees; specifically, one of which would be to promote and expand collaboration among the three entities, and a second one to continue to administer the annual ANS Student Design Competition, which has been the primary responsibility of the UIGR committee for over three decades. The current Chair of the UIGR committee, Lee Dodds, enthusiastically agreed with this decision. More significantly, Professor Dodds plans to retire at the end of CY2011 and has been seeking his successor to administer the annual Student Design Contest. Fortunately, a very talented and qualified young professor has agreed to take over the administration of the contest; namely, Dr. Travis Knight of the University of South Carolina, who will assume this responsibility on Jan. 1, 2012.

H. L. Dodds

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *